Twitter Dumb and ROW80

October 12, 2011 § 6 Comments

I have a bone to pick with everyone who encouraged me to join Twitter. Thanks and you suck! I’m so in love with it, but it’s even harder for me to put my phone down now. I should probably take it off my dang phone. And I also don’t understand it, but when I get it figured out… look out.

Which brings me to my goals, which are going great despite my Twitter addiction. I purchased Fiction For Dummies and am open to new methods for outlining (that don’t involve my indecipherable scribbling). I’ve kept my word-count goals and have been editing every day as well. I’m reading whatever I want too.

As far as my plot goes, I’ve got a really nerdy way that has worked for me to iron out kinks. I’m sure there are times when everyone likes to daydream, and my time is running. When I’m running I love to plug my ears with loud music and let my thoughts roam. I’ve come up with some great ideas this way, but some less-than-stellar ones. (I won’t mention the “runner’s sleeve”– a pocket at the end of your sleeve that pulls out into a hankie, cause who hasn’t used their sleeve to wipe their snot on a cold morning?) I digress. Anyway, I’ve recently made myself turn down the tunes and spend several laps figuring some stuff out. I find it uses my daydreaming skills for good.

I also have a question: has anyone else ever worked on Englishmajor.com? I had a friend tell me about it and just did a couple of jobs. It’s really sucking out my soul, what with writing about black cupboard knobs and all. Just curious if anyone else can steer me away before I lose all faith in humanity for the Almighty Dollar.

§ 6 Responses to Twitter Dumb and ROW80

  • I had to stop by and say hello when I saw ‘darcywords’. I’m a fellow ROW80 participant. Would your blog title have anything to do with the Mr. Darcy of P&P, or something else? I’m curious. 🙂

    • heatherishither says:

      It’s actually my dog’s name, but she is named after Mr. Darcy. 🙂 So, the answer is yes. Thanks for stopping in!

  • Ok, your post made me laugh out loud. Twitter addictions and snot? LOL

    Good job on getting your goals accomplished. It sounds like you’re doing great!

    I don’t even know what Englishmajor.com is. But if it’s sucking out your soul, you better run and not look back.

  • Ruth Nestvold says:

    Found you, found you! Thanks for the tip in my blog. 🙂

    Less than stellar ideas are a big part of writing — the problem is figuring out which ones they are before we spend too much time on them! *g*

    Good luck and have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Twitter Dumb and ROW80 at The Blog of Heather.

meta

