I Get an F (ROW80 Update)

October 16, 2011 § 5 Comments

I should preface my check-in with all my excuses (just so they’re out of the way).  First, I had a family reunion this weekend in Oklahoma which entailed a 6-hour car drive with two children under the age of 3. Your life sounds good right about now, huh?

I’ve also been doing these writing assignments for this Soul Sucking Web Site, and if I don’t do a job every day for 10 days, I don’t get paid. I’m also about to scream if I don’t get to use a contraction! I hate business writing. It makes me want to get in the fetal position and cry.

Which brings me to what goals I accomplished since Wednesday: no writing, no editing, no blogging. But I did manage to get my plot a little more sorted out, and I got to spend time with some of my relatives.

Here are my new (loftier) goals: write 1000 words on WIP every day for the next week, blog every other day (and do some fancifying ((yes that is a word)) of said blog), and I’m going to stop using so many parentheses also.

I will end this blog with a question because I had a few epiphanies in my home state this weekend. First, is this sentence in any way acceptable? “I might could change a few things.”

How about this: “Here’s what let’s do.” These were uttered by  me, but they only come out when I cross the state border.

I also enlightened Jon on my rural education where “taking licks” was an acceptable form of punishment. He thought this was hilarious. Because corporal punishment is always funny, I don’t care who you are. Anybody else get spanked in public school?

§ 5 Responses to I Get an F (ROW80 Update)

  • Kat Morrisey says:

    Great goals, and good work so far as well! Here is to rockin ROW80! As for taking licks—never got spanked in school but I sure do remember the threat of it at home. Didn’t need the actual punishment, the threat was enough to keep me in line…well, most of the time! Good luck this week!

  • Ruth Nestvold says:

    Good luck on the new goals, Heather! And congrats on getting some work done on plotting. For me, the more plotting I do up front, the fewer words I have to delete later.

    No licks for me in public school, luckily.

    Have a great week!

  • Hannah says:

    This might could be a great blog!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Get an F (ROW80 Update) at The Blog of Heather.

meta

