November 6th ROW80 Update

November 6, 2011 § 5 Comments

Here’s where I am at the end of week one: one-third of the way through my WIP. (I am a Nano cheater, though.) I have chipped away at my three acts and plan on having a perfectly sculpted masterpiece by November 30th (maybe more of a blob but a finished one).

So, I have written 1,500 words every day except for yesterday, when I did some heavy editing.  I’m further in Fiction For Dummies, and I hope to finish it next week. I also read two books, and didn’t review them. Shame on me. I’ll do that.

I’ve found that writing on actual paper with this thing called a pen is really helpful to me. I did it in college, and I don’t know why I hadn’t started doing this earlier. It also helps that I can write anywhere without my laptop. The other day I had one kid strapped to my chest, one kid in the stroller asleep, the sheepdog walking on the leash and stopped to write two pages in my notebook after every lap at the park. It was multitasking heaven! (Virginia Woolf was wrong about needing a room of one’s own.)

This week’s goals are the same as last week. 1,500 words a day.

§ 5 Responses to November 6th ROW80 Update

  • Gene Lempp says:

    Nice job on your word goal, Heather. I’ve read most of Fiction for Dummies and its a great book. I’d suggest Story Engineering by Larry Brooks or Plot & Structure by James Scott Bell next if you haven’t read them yet.

    I use paper and pencil for working out ideas. Something about drawing helps me “draw” the ideas out of my head. Mind maps are especially useful by hand.

    Have a great coming week and all the best for NaNo (I’m in it as well) 🙂

  • Ryan King says:

    LOL. I know right? Pens and paper seem so.. old. But you know what? They work. Many times I find they let the words flow easier somehow. Still haven’t figured out how that works yet. Great job on your goal 🙂 Keep it up.

  • Sharon says:

    Pen & paper … I remember those days … *sigh* Unfortunately, my hand couldn’t keep up with my mind and I’d lose exquisite, brilliant ideas. Well, *I* thought they were exquisite & brilliant, anyway… 😉

    Sounds like you’re doing great on your goals. I’m just now jumping into this round – I’m a veteran ROW80’er from the first two rounds but had to go deal with real life for a while. And thus discovered that my ROW80 accountability was what was keeping me on track. Go figure. lol

  • Fantastic work… and yes, notebooks and pens are truly delectable. I love writing the old fashioned way… and I have to say… I am with Virginia Woolf, still. I am writing with Super Mario blaring in the background. 🙂

    Your post inspired me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading November 6th ROW80 Update at The Blog of Heather.

meta

