2 reviews: I’m making myself do it!

November 9, 2011 § 2 Comments

I read the sequel to Firelight  called Vanish this week (by Sophie Jordan) and liked it okay. The story kept me up late reading, which is always good. 

 Here are my likes: I still like the story-world and the original idea. A girl that turns into a dragon is very cool (shut up, dad). It was well-paced and kept my attention. Essentially, it’s about a girl’s struggle to decide where she belongs and who she is, which is totally relatable. I’m still doing that.

Here’s what I didn’t like: the romance got a little-blah. Not enough suspense, or too… something. I got to where I was asking myself “why do we like this guy again?” which is never a good place to be. Don’t get me wrong, I still cared.  Maybe I didn’t like him enough in the first book.

Overall I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Even though I’m broke, I broke (ha) down and bought Ender’s Game and it was a FABULOUS decision. I needed that. It’s so fun when I read something out of the norm for me and it impresses. There are many sci-fi geeks out there wondering what took me so long to get my head out of my butt and do it, so I did.

Here’s what I loved: I loved everything: the world, the idea, the main character, his relationship with his sister, his friends at Battle School, the ending. It was super duper (people don’t use that enough).

It did a great job of making you feel like you are Ender Wiggins. I’m a child genius killer. Look out!  By the end, I was so invested that I was scared to finish. I just knew that Ender was going to blow up his sister and the the Buggers were really the teachers or something like that. (What can I say, my glass is half full. NOT.)

I don’t care who you are- read it. (That’s 5 out of 5 stars if you’re confused.)

§ 2 Responses to 2 reviews: I’m making myself do it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2 reviews: I’m making myself do it! at The Blog of Heather.

meta

