November 13th ROW80: Excuses

November 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

A plague! It is upon us! Okay, it’s a cold. But it makes me crazy, because all 3 of us have it now. And a sick 5 month old and 2 year old is hard-core. It will melt your face off. We also went out of town for a few days, and the short and long of it is: I didn’t get much done.

I did get 500-750 words a day. So I didn’t totally check out since Wednesday. And I sort of cheated on Nano because I knew this was bound to happen (and even though I love self-punishment, I hate to fail). So I think I should be okay. I already had a lot of words (just not pieced together). It was in an effort to level the playing field against my imaginary competitor. YOU (just kidding!)

Another thing is I got a lot of imagination time. It has become apparent to me that I’ve been training my whole life to constructively daydream. It’s fun. I like to visit my characters, replay a scene I’ve written or plan to write. The odd shiny idea (sometimes flying squirrels–long story) flies by me and I catch it and it sets me in a new direction. I can’t tell you the hours I got in on this, but I know it was more than six.  (Car music of late is the new Florence & Machine. It’s rad.) 

Question time!

 I have tried for years to get my sister to read Jane Eyre. She was showing me her fancy Nook color this weekend and I saw it in her library and couldn’t resist its pull. So I’m reading it again. It’s one of the few books that I continue to revisit throughout my life. I bet I was 11 or 12 when I first read it, then in high school and in a class in college. Now I’ve read it as a mother (almost 30!).  I know not everyone has this kind of book, and it isn’t even necessarily my favorite book. Anyone else have a book that they read throughout their life? I have several, but this is one of my earliest ones and very close to my jaded heart (yes, I do have one).

§ 2 Responses to November 13th ROW80: Excuses

  • Ryan King says:

    500+ a day is pretty good. I know it’s NaNo length but that’s better than big ol’ goose eggs. Day dreaming is great for ideas! Hmm, the only stories I’ve continued to read over and over are the Sherlock Holmes stories. That’s a mystery unto itself 😉

  • Komal says:

    I’m not doing NaNo but my daily goal is 770 words, so I think you’re doing pretty well!

    As much as I enjoyed Jane Eyre, I must admit that love Wuthering Heights more. I’ve been reading it since I was 13 and I just love the dark tone to it – it’s awesome!

    I’ve also been a Lord of the Rings addict since my 10th birthday (I don’t know what my dad was thinking when he gave a 10 year old those books, but I’ve loved them since).

    Also, Anna Karenina has been a favourite since I was 14. The ending was depressing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading November 13th ROW80: Excuses at The Blog of Heather.

meta

