Who Are You?

November 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

This weekend has been insane. Jon and I moved into a downtown loft and I haven’t been able to write. I have been thinking a lot about characters though, and I had a funny epiphany.

I am Leslie Knope from Parks and Rec. This is probably why I think she’s hilarious, because it’s always easiest to laugh at myself. I just didn’t realize I was laughing at me until this morning as I watched her describe herself.

She’s fiercely competitive. On the show, she constantly has to outdo other people on the most ridiculous things. She’s also a take charge person (some might call her bossy). In the last episode, another character accuses her of being a steamroller, bullying people to like the same things she does, and always getting her way.

One of her best faults is that she can’t admit defeat. Ever.

Here are a few previews of our moving weekend that illustrate my personality and brought me to this realization: I ordered the wrong size truck, insisting Jon was wrong; it would all fit, I lied this morning about being sore, cause I am not a wimpy loser (like him. See? I win), I bossed him around the whole time we unloaded that truck.

I have a character who’s very similar to her in my WIP too, and I thought, ‘oh well, she’s a little similar to me.’ Okay, no. She is me.

I always thought I was a Hermione, but I think I’m a Leslie. Who are you?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who Are You? at The Blog of Heather.

meta

