Dec. 11th Update for ROW80

December 11, 2011 § 6 Comments

I went to the SCBWI( Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) Christmas party last night with my sister and got to meet some wonderful writers and illustrators. I told my sister, Hannah, that I felt like the wife in Waiting for Guffman when she’s all “we never get to mix with the creative types. We mostly hang out with other people with babies.” The host’s name was Anna Myers and she was a hoot! By the end of the night my smiler was all sore from laughing.

As far as my goals, getting to that party was one of them! Check. As for reading through my rough draft- failure on that. Wah wah.

I’ve been meaning to do more book reviews, so I will do that. Last week I had a sort of book binge. Many books came in at the library and I haven’t felt like looking at my Manuscript Of Doom. So, I am really going to get through that this week, now that I’m visiting my parents and I can go over to my sister’s house and work.

Here’s a list of my goals:

  1. READ ROUGH DRAFT (without editing along the way)
  2. Exercise 2 times (this is new!)
  3. Review books on my blog for book reviews (I actually have on of those)
  4. Write creative fiction every day (no word count specifications)

How’s everyone else’s week going? The holidays are coming right up! I am so behind on Christmas presents!

§ 6 Responses to Dec. 11th Update for ROW80

  • Ryan King says:

    It’s always good to socialize with someone who’s not a kid. Good luck with your goals!

  • Gene Lempp says:

    Have to party and hang with the creatives from time to time. Really recharges the batteries. *applause* for adding in exercise, it makes all the difference.

    All the best for the coming week and the read-through on the “Manuscript of Doom” 🙂

  • Ooh, I’m the same with book reviews, I have so many to do this year to complete 2 reading challenges. Eek!
    Good luck with your goals this week (and don’t worry about the presents thing, we’ve got ages to go – I keep telling myself this anyway!).

  • Ruth Nestvold says:

    Cool when a party is one of your goals. *g* Good luck on the rest of your goals and have a great week!

  • Hannah says:

    So glad you think of me as a “sister” and not an in-law! Right back at ya! And for the record, I totally think we would be bosom buddies even if I hadn’t married your brother. Yay for parties (and philosophical car rides)!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dec. 11th Update for ROW80 at The Blog of Heather.

meta

