Final Check-in ROW80

December 22, 2011 § 4 Comments

Well, I didn’t do too bad overall. I finished a rough draft, for the freaking love. (Or as Gabe likes to say: “or the reaking lub!”)

I’m excited to dive in the next round with more realistic expectations and a better understanding of myself. I’ve loved reading other writers’ blogs and getting to know some lovely people. I’ve almost figured out “the Twitter” so maybe next round I’ll try to participate in the hashtag world.

The last two check-ins I checked out. I had a real pity party for myself and kind of gave up for a sec. I’m a classic quitter. I would color in pages of my coloring books and as soon as I got outside the lines flip the page and abandon my original masterpiece. This resulted in an abundance of half-colored coloring books, and it is apparent that I do the same thing on a grown-up level.

So next round, I plan to make my goals more attainable. Writing 1000 words every day and blogging and reading and raising two babies is not reasonable. I need my own things, but I am a mom first. And we’ve had a special Christmas week around here which I’m very proud of!

Merry, Merry Holidays to everyone and Happiest of New Years!

 

§ 4 Responses to Final Check-in ROW80

  • Gene Lempp says:

    Staying realistic is indeed the key to success in ROW or with any goal. I think most (and I know this applies to me as well) come into this type of group all on fire to make up for the thing we think we should have been doing and then, classically, overdo it and crash. It seems far better to concentrate on one or two things that we truly want to accomplish and if time allows us more then we can always adjust in more from there.

    Have a great holiday and see you in 2012, Heather 🙂

  • Ryan King says:

    You did a bang up job actually. Keep it real but keep it writing 😉 Happy Holidays. I look forward to seeing you next round!

  • My babies are all grown up, but I still kept 500 words as my goal instead of going higher. Then when I DID write more, I felt really good about it. LOL. We do need to make sure our goals are realistic for our individual lifestyles.

    I think you’re doing great!

  • Ruth Nestvold says:

    Keep up the good work, Heather! 500 hundred words a day is a great goal, since it’s not too hard to achieve but it still means significant progress for your writing projects! For a long time, I was shooting for 2500 words a week, but if you do that consistently, you can finish a novel in a year!

    Good luck and have a great holiday season. See you in 2012? 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Final Check-in ROW80 at The Blog of Heather.

meta

