ROW 80 Dec. 4th

January 4, 2012 § 6 Comments

Well… I’ve done  pretty good. I meditated every day for 10 minutes and worked out  for 30 minutes twice! 

And I finally opened up the MOD (manuscript of doom) and I didn’t find it all bad. Hooray! I’ve been through Act 1 and half of Act 2 since Monday. I think I’ve found where I really enjoy this process the most and that’s in the editing. Dissecting scenes, adding better character detail, questioning the pacing and reevaluating the directions I took is so much fun.

I think it’s cause I’m bossy.

So I’m still exploring the story world and mulling over stuff in my head. I am so torn and clueless and looking for clarity on how to tell the best story I can. But it’s FUN. A lot more fun for me than churning out words in November was! 

But that had to be done. And I don’t think I’m prolific enough to end up with pages and pages of story that I can barely wade through. Believe me, I’ve got problems but that isn’t one of them!

Finally, I reviewed the two books I read last week. I’m in the middle of a book by an author I met at the Christmas Party I went to last round and it’s good!

Not a bad start! I hope everyone else is doing well. I try to get around and read other blogs but never manage more than just a few. My monster babies are not very accommodating.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to ROW 80 Dec. 4th

  • Boy, I think that half my battle is just to open up the darn manuscript. It’s never as bad as I fantasize. Not to say that it doesn’t have problems. But, I know enough now to know what the problems are. Hopefully I have the skillz to fix them! 🙂

    I think it rocks that you are meditating–I’m not sure I ever find that kind of peace in my day. Although a good run–sometimes that feels like meditation! Thanks for the kind comment at my blog!! 🙂

    Good luck as you tackle more ROWing!!

    • heatherishither says:

      @Ryan- I put meditation music on my phone and do what I did to get through contractions. Basically you go through every part of your body trying to relax, then I think about a special relaxing place. I try to picture every detail of that place. It’s so easy! I try not to think about anything stressful, and if I start to, I go back to focusing on every muscle and relaxing. You could start with 5 minutes and work up. I do it at the end of the day..

      @Teacherwriter- I hope you find time. It is worth it!

      @Heather- I think running can count.

      @Julie- Thanks, you too!

  • Ryan King says:

    I’ve tried to meditate and I can’t seem to do it. I’m curious as to how you do it. Not a bad start at all 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  • Julie Glover says:

    Good progress so far! Great first check-in. I am also trying to exercise three times a week. Good luck with that! Hope you have a great round.

  • Manuscript of death! I LIKE THAT! I think as writers we will always be exploring. Sounds like you have a plan…woohoo! Great job!!!!

  • Congratulations on your great first check in. Alas, I haven’t been keeping up with my meditation. I’m so much more calm and relaxed when I do, but when life gets harried, I tend to let it go. You’ve encouraged me to find ten minutes and get back to it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ROW 80 Dec. 4th at The Blog of Heather.

meta

