“Play the song, Schneebly” ROW 80 Check-In Dec 11th

January 12, 2012 § 2 Comments

Well, I’ve met all my goals. So, good for me. I managed 30 minutes a day of writing and/or editing and exercising as well as the meditation for 10 minutes. It doesn’t sound like much, but it’s miraculous with Hadley now crawling and not ever napping for longer than 10-15 minutes.

My big, overall goal right now is to get this rough draft into shape and let (gasp) another sentient being read it by Valentine’s Day. Somebody just shoot me. I mean, yay!

Here’s an illustration of how I feel about it: I want to revert to Jack Black’s character in School of Rock- when the kids are asking him to play his song for them and he has to qualify everything. “Thing is, I just want you to keep in mind that…I wrote it in like, 15 minutes, and uh, it’s not done yet, and you might not like it…” then one of the kids yells “just play the song, Schneebly!”

So, that’s where I’m at. I don’t want to play the song. I feel like I need to pay some strangers to read this thing and I will still tell them stuff like, ” I wrote this during the kids nap, in about 10 minutes…and I was drunk…and part of the book was written by my sheepdog… and…”

How was everyone else’s week? Anybody else put the thought of other people reading their story in the same category as a root canal?

§ 2 Responses to “Play the song, Schneebly” ROW 80 Check-In Dec 11th

  • Ryan King says:

    Putting something out in front of others to read is hard but you can do it. Just polish it as best you can and send that puppy to the lions. It’ll be better for it in the end. Good job on meeting your goals 🙂

  • Oh ye of many qualifiers, I’ve been there. When I turned in my first story in college, I thought I was going to pee my pants. When I read another story aloud to the class, I thought I was going to throw up. They kept telling me to speak louder. I had to start over a few times. MORTIFIED. lol

    It gets easier over time. Every exposure puts you closer to where you want to be.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Play the song, Schneebly” ROW 80 Check-In Dec 11th at The Blog of Heather.

meta

