“Can You Hit A Perfect Pitch?” My entry…

January 17, 2012 § 3 Comments

Title: Livingstonia

Genre: YA Paranormal

Length: 60,000 words

Pitch:  Viola Gray runs into strange events on a field trip at her new African boarding school. Lost on a mountain with a cursed boy, can her and her friends escape the dark magic that haunts them?

Barefooted Africans throng the paved road as we run alongside in our white, athletic uniforms. I dodge stones on the dirt path that marks the cross-country route. A woman carrying a pile of firewood the size of a couch on her head narrowly misses a tall boy zipping by. His name’s Henjeko; he’s Swedish and looks like a viking.

 A cool mist- which they called “Chiperone” in our village- drifts by, bringing with it an eerie darkness that seeps across the road and clouds my eyes. The smell is thick with mist and wood-fire as my feet smack the smooth dirt. I’m determined not to let Leonie pass me if it kills me and I keel over right here on this dirty African street. Her annoying, banana-yellow hair bobs in front of me.

 Today we’re being timed and I’ll be damned if I come last. Next to last- fine.

 

All suggestions are welcome! Thanks for reading.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to “Can You Hit A Perfect Pitch?” My entry…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Can You Hit A Perfect Pitch?” My entry… at The Blog of Heather.

meta

