ROW 80 & Gold Stars

January 22, 2012 § 6 Comments

I’m recuperating right now from some ailment that is similar to what I imagine being pelted with a paintball gun feels like- oh, and puking. Luckily, it’s only me. (If  you can  put barfing and feeling like death after a word like “luckily” ) So I’ve gotten to barricade myself in our room and listen to the sounds of Jon’s parenting. Gems like “HUSH!” and “no more cupcakes!” and “wanna watch another cartoon?” and “Argh, quit pooping!” I took notes.

I did get to do some reading yesterday. I read the sequel to Shatter (which is a free Epic Fantasy on Amazon) and it was so good! The name of the book is Render, and it’s got a lot of fun characters and I think it’s a superbly crafted world. The author is Elizabeth C. Mock (self-pubbed) and I highly recommend these books. I am not a well-read fantasy reader, but these make me want to read more.

As far as writing goals, I’m doing good! I met all my goals despite contracting the plague. Yesterday was my “day off.” I have meditated some. When I lay in bed with Gabe getting him to sleep, I do it. It’s what I like to call  multi-tasking-meditation and I decided that it counts.

I get gold stars for exercise too since I exceeded my goal (of 3 workouts). This is something that helps me feel more positive toward everyone and everything, so it’s probably worthwhile.

Last but not least- I jazzed up my blog a bit! I figured out how to put widgets on the side. I realized with my last theme, the widgets that I thought didn’t exist were at the bottom of the page. Hence, no one could see them.

I’m also toying with the idea of changing my screenname. My dad informed me that it looks like HeatherIsShit when it gets cut-off for a comment. While this is funny to me, it’s not really the message I’m trying to send to the world. I’m pretty self-deprecating, but that seems a bit extreme, yes?

Hope everyone has a wonderful week. I used hand sanitizer, so don’t be afraid to comment. 😉

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to ROW 80 & Gold Stars

  • Being sick is the worst!!!! Exercising always makes me feel better, too. I can tell by my mood if I have skipped a day or two of working out.

    And your screenname story made me laugh out loud. 🙂

  • Hannah says:

    This whole post made me chuckle, and I likes me a good chuckle! Also, the blog looks very snazzy–I like what you’ve done with the place!

  • This post made me giggle. From the parenting gems to the screenname issue, this is all very entertaining. I admit that the screenname seems like a good idea. When I first saw it, it took me a few seconds to figure out what it said. And all of the many of the incarnations it took on before getting to the right one were not very flattering. It’s great that you made all your goals. Good for you. Get well soon.

  • Gene Lempp says:

    Given the illness, you did fantastic and what an amazingly positive attitude. Kudo’s!

    Funny about your tag name and he’s right, it does. Have you considered just being Heather Ponzer? One thing I learned from Kristen Lamb is the importance of carrying the same name on all platforms/locations. Doesn’t have to be cute, just has to be you 🙂

    Have a great week and hope you feel better soon~

  • Ruth Nestvold says:

    Woah, you totally changed your look, I didn’t recognize you anymore! *g* I like it, not as bare as it used to be.

    The “HeatherisShit” made me laugh out loud. Thanks for that. Never had that association myself, however.

    HUGE congrats on getting so much done despite the flu! But if it gets too serious, give yourself a break, ok? *hugs*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ROW 80 & Gold Stars at The Blog of Heather.

meta

