My Secret Superbowl Celebration

February 5, 2012 § 1 Comment

I’m celebrating today, but not because I love football. Nope. Football is dumb (sorry but it’s true).

No, I’m celebrating that I edited my first book! And I got my first critique today from my sister-in-law and it was NOT what I was expecting (no heart failure).  Instead of crying, I was laughing. I’m so glad to have a critique under my belt and any of the things that didn’t work I could totally see once she pointed it out. I have an exceptionally wise and wonderful critique partner!

So where does that leave me? On to the next book! I’m getting all twitterpated with a new idea. The development  is one of my favorite parts of writing: fantasizing about a new cast of characters, letting ideas start to take root. Daydreaming, one of my finest skills (besides parallel parking), finally plays a useful role in my life.

I think I’ll take a break this week. I’ll probably still write, but I just feel a little worn thin. Getting the rewrite done this week was hard -on me and the offspring. I still need to rewrite the first 10 pages now that I have a critique, and mail it off this week.  Other than that, I’m going to be easy on myself this week.

This is a a convenient time to let myself off the hook since I read two books in the past 3 days. I’m so bad.

p.s. Chime and Divergent are both excellent! Stayed up way too late reading both of them.

 

 

§ One Response to My Secret Superbowl Celebration

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Secret Superbowl Celebration at The Blog of Heather.

meta

