Who Is Your Literary Crush?

February 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I will reveal the man-of-words who maketh me swoon. Although he’s not the typical pick, I think he’s dreamy. The obvious choice is probably Hemingway (the bad boy) or maybe Keats (such a romantic and tragically ill), or perhaps even Shakespeare- the king of Romance. These are all worthy picks, but not for me.

I’m willing to admit it’s his brain I love, although he’s slightly cute (in a way!) He’s not necessarily my all-time favorite writer, although he’s one of them, he is the writer I think I’d have the most chemistry with. Of whom do I speak? 

Alexander Pope, of course!

Yes, I know he was 4 and a half feet tall and sickly, but he had such wit! And even though everyone knows him for his mock-epic “The Rape of the Lock,”  Byron said 100 years later about him: “If you search for passion, where is to be found stonger than in the Epistle from Eloisa to Abelard?” I have to agree with good ‘ole Byron!

 So, I will leave you with a passage from this poem (which I love a whole, whole lot):

What scenes appear where’er I turn my view?

The dear ideas, where I fly, pursue,

Rise in the grove, before the altar rise,

Stain all my soul, and wanton in my eyes!

I waste the matin lamp in sighs for thee,

Thy image steals between my God and me,

Thy voice I seem in every hymn to hear,

With every bead I drop too soft a tear.

When from the censer clouds of fragance roll,

And swelling organs lift the rising soul,

One thought of thee puts all the pomp to flight,

Priests, tapers, temples, swim before my sight:

In seas of flame my plunging soul is drowned,

While altars blaze, and angels tremble round.

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who Is Your Literary Crush? at The Blog of Heather.

meta

