Books and ROW80

February 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

You know how you say “my eyes were bigger than my stomach?” I guess I should say that mine are bigger than my…brain? eyes? time? Anyway, I had a butt-ton of books come in at the library and am quite excited about several. My first choice is The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. I’m only a couple chapters in and have already cried, and I don’t cry! (Ask my family.)

On to my goals –I am coming along! I worked out every day this week. I like to call that going above and beyond, people. (My goal’s only 3 times a week.) I’ve  also written the first two chapters in a new book (30 min/day)  and have some semblance of a plot thrown together. I’ve done lots of research but need to do more. Who doesn’t love research? It is my delight. So much so, that I have to make myself sit down and actually write. That’s the tricky part.

I’ve reviewed every book I’ve read lately and am getting so into Goodreads. It’s a neat little place to hang out and talk about books. I tried to join the tribe on Triberr, but it has eluded me thus far. But I will prevail.

 

I leave you with a quote today, In honor of my literary feast from the library, here’s a poem from dear old Emily about…what else? Books. (You can substitute in “screen” for “page” if necessary.)

There is no frigate like a book

To take us lands away,

Nor any coursers like a page

Of prancing poetry.

 

This traverse may the poorest take

Without oppress of toll;

How frugal is the chariot

That bears a human soul!

-Emily Dickinson

 (My loot)

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Books and ROW80 at The Blog of Heather.

meta

